Week 1 Reflection

I learned that Web 2.0 includes many tools, such as podcasts, wikis, e-mail, texting, social networks (MySpace, Facebook, Twitter), and blogs. All of these platforms bring ideas, people, and information closer to each other. One video we watched talked about a collective intelligence, and that the internet is a platform to make the world smarter. With so much access to information and ideas, it makes sense that that would be the result. So many resources at our fingertips will make us more informed and allow us to share and even improve on the ideas of others.

I really like the Edublogs site. I have been looking for a safe blogging site for students at my elementary school. This seems like the perfect solution. It is designed only for education, has no adult content, no exposure to other blogs, and class blog management features. It also said that it is accessible by most schools. The filter at my school is pretty “filtery”. It doesn’t let much get by. Hopefully it will allow access to this site. This would allow the students at my school to blog and reap the benefits from this great Web 2.0 tool.  The other blogs, Blogger and WordPress, aren’t as kid friendly, but they really weren’t designed to be. I have used Blogger in the past. I really enjoyed using it, and it is very straightforward and easy to use. I decided to use WordPress because I had never used it before. I like it so far. It seems similar to Blogger in many respects. I will have to explore more of its features as I write more blogs.

I mentioned earlier that I plan to introduce Edublogs to the teachers and students at the elementary school where I work. I am positive that the students would really enjoy writing and sharing their thoughts and assignments with each other and with students at other schools.

Honestly, I selected WordPress because I had used Blogger for another class and the class assignments are on this blog.

Blogs have unlimited uses and applications in the classroom and library setting. For Language Arts, students could blog after each chapter of a novel the class is reading. For science, students cold blog the results of a class experiment and share the data with other sections or with other schools. For social studies, students could blog about their favorite legend or tall tale and make up a story about one of these fictional characters.

I guess the only question I have is can someone read your blog without having an e-mail address? From what I understand, you have the option to let everyone see it or only those invited. If someone you have invited doesn’t have an e-mail address, is it still possible for them to read it and make comments?

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

